Sri Sathguru Sangeetha Vidyalayam

The Vidyalayam was started as an institution for training young boys and girls in Indian Carnatic music- both Vocal and Instrumental. In later years the institution grew in strength and stature. The Vidyalayam established as a College of Music with the introduction of 'Sangeetha Siromani' a four year Diploma course. Since then the non-formal institution of the Evening Classes and the full-fledged College of Music continued to function side by side under the banner of 'Sri Sathguru Sangeetha Vidyalayam'. This College of Music has been affiliated to the Madurai Kamaraj University since 1966.

This institution has the unique distinction of being the only affiliated college solely devoted to the study of Performing Arts in the state of Tamilnadu.

The College offers disciplines in Vocal and Veena at the major level and Vocal, Veena Violin, Mridangam and Bharathanatyam at the ancillary level.

Thiru T T Krishnamachari inaugurated the Vidyalayam in 1959. Enjoying the patronage of the House of TVS, the institution has grown from strength to strength in the past five and half decades. Housed in Lakshmi Sundaram Hall, the notable landmark of architectural beauty in Madurai, the Vidyalayam has been fulfilling the expectations of its founders in ample measure. The Vidyalayam is managed by a committee.

On 10/09/2012, Sri Sathguru Sangeetha Vidyalayam was recognised as one of the research centres in the jurisdiction of Madurai Kamaraj University leading to PhD Degree in music. It is the largest research centre in music. Students with PG degree in music can apply for PhD (Part time and Full time).

Change of nomenclature of the course based on new Educational policy-hitherto B. Mus Degree re-named B.A.(Performing Arts ), M.Mus degree re-named as M.A.(Performing arts), M.Phil Degree course in Performing Arts (1991). The degree is now named as B.A.(Music), M.A.(Music) & M.Phil (Music) from the academic year 1998-99.

Choice based credit system has been introduced for B.A Music and M.A Music from the academic year 2008-09.

The institution has mainly three wings devoted to Vocal, Instrumental and dance faculties catering to both under graduate and post graduate courses. The instrumental section has Veena, Violin and Mrudangam departments. The total teaching strength of the institution is 16 of which all, except two members teach music subjects and two teachers teach languages i.e., Tamil and English.

Seminars, Workshops, Symposiums, and live concerts are also the special features of Sri Sathguru Saneetha Vidyalayam. Monthly music concerts, Annual mega music concert series in the month of February, and celebration of composer's day are other added events in this institution.

Outstanding personalities in the field of music, fine arts, and public administration have visited and blessed the institution and this includes the Maharaja Of Mysore, The chief ministers of Tamilnadu Sri K.Kamaraj, Sri M.BhakthaVathsalam and Sri M.G.Ramachandran, besides the the great votary of fine Arts, Sri T.T.Krishanamachari, the former Union minister. The legendary singer Dr.K.J.Yesudas has also sanctified our institution with his blissful presence.

The College has had the benefit of good leadership by eminent Principals and a set of devoted teaching staff. This tradition continues.

The institution which bears the name of great Saint Composer Sri Thyagaraja, will ever cherish his traditions and render outstanding services in the field of Performing Arts.

Important Mile Stones In The History Of The Institution.

  • Commencement of Evening Classes in Music, Vocal and Instrumental -1959
  • Expansion of Vidyalayam into a College of Music affiliated to the Madurai Kamaraj University. - 1966
  • Introduction of B.Mus Degree course - 1969 (renamed since 1998-99 as B.A Performing Arts)
  • Introduction of M.Mus Degree course - 1979 (renamed since 1998-99 as M.A. Performing Arts)
  • Introduction of M.Phil Degree course in Performing Arts (Self Finance) - 1991
  • Introduction of Ph.D Course (Part time & Full time)- 2012

Founder of the College


President - Sri B.Ganapathi Sarma
Secretary - Sri S.Venkatanarayanan
Principal (IC) - Sri N.S. Saminathan