Sri Sathguru Sangeetha Vidyalayam

Our History

Sri Sathguru Sangeetha Vidyalayam (College of Music) is an associate of Sri Sathguru Sangeetha Samajam and was inaugurated in the year 1959 by T.T.Krishnamachari whose devotion to music is well known. The samajam itself was born in the year 1950 mainly due to the efforts of musicians and art lovers, led by the late Sri Nagaswamy Bhagavathar, and Mrudanga vidwan Sri Muruga Bhupathi who was its first president.

These two institutions have been lucky in getting sustained support from munificent philanthropists of Madurai and especially from the house of TVS, due to whose efforts, Lakshmi Sundaram Hall, the building of Samajam and Vidyalayam has been constructed. The foundation for this temple of art was laid by His Highness the Maharaja of Mysore, the well known patron of arts and the building of the Samajam was declared open by Raja Sir M.A.Muthiah Chittiyar and that of the Vidyalayam block by Sri T.T.Krishnamachari.

The four year Sangeetha Siromani course was started in the year 1966 and the B.Music degree course in the year 1969 and the PUC course in the academic year 1971-72.

The Vidyalayam is being staffed by eminent teachers and has become widely known as premier teaching institution of Carnatic music in India. This institution which bears the name of "Sri Sathguru" who showed us the way of this sweet melodious path to "moksha" is dedicated to the service of art for art"s sake and will ever cherish his great memory and strive with single minded devotion and dedication to serve Carnatic music and other fine arts.

Go to : Top  

Presidents, Secretaries & Principals
Former Presidents

Sri T.K. Sivasamban
1966 - 1978

Sri T.K. Ramasamy Iyengar
1978 - 1981

Sri K. Lakshmi Narashimhan
1981 - 1988

Sri R. Ratnam
1988 - 1998

Sri K. Lakshmi Narashimhan
1998 - 2000

Present President

Sri B. Ganapathi Sarma
2006 onwards


Former Secretaries

Sri K. Lakshminarashimhan
1966 - 1975

Sri V.V. Varadharajan
1975 - 1980

Sri K.C. Ragunathan
1980 - 1981

Sri S. Venkatasubramaniam
1981 - 1988

Sri K. Lakshminarashimhan
1988 - 1998

Sri K.S. Narayanaswamy
1998 - 2009

Sri R. Srinivasan
2009 - 2011

Sri K.S. Narayanaswamy
1998 - 2009

Sri R. Srinivasan
2009 - 2011

Present Secretary

Sri S. Venkatanarayanan
2011 onwards


Former Principals

Vidwan Sri C.S. Sankara Sivam
1966 - 1969

Sri K.S. Venkatesan
1969 - 1970

Dr. S. Ramanathan Ph.D.,
1970 - 1976

Dr. V. Premalatha M.A., Ph.D.,
1977 - 1990

Dr. M. Hariharan
M.Mus., M.Ed., Ph.D., (In Charge)
1990 - 1995

Dr. Mythili Srinivasan
M.A., B.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D.,(In Charge)
1995 - 1997

Dr. R. Mythili M.Mus., Ph.D., (In Charge)
1995 - 1997

Dr. Lakshmi Poduval
M.A.,(Phil), Ph.D., (In Charge)
2003 - 2008

Dr. Lakshmi Poduval
M.A.,(Phil), Ph.D.,
2008 - 2010

Dr. Latha Varma M.A., Ph.D.,
2010 - 2015

Dr. R. Aruna M.Mus., Ph.D.,
2015 - 2016

Dr K.N. Renganatha Sharma M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.,

Present Principal (In Charge)

Dr N.S. Saminatha B.Com.,
2017 onwards

Go to : Top  

Founder of the College


President - Sri B.Ganapathi Sarma
Secretary - Sri S.Venkatanarayanan
Principal (IC) - Sri N.S. Saminathan